Day 2 – the 10 Day Blog Challenge

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 2.

The pertinent question on Day 2 of the 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge is ‘Why do I want to live a freedom life-style?’. The first question that arises in my mind in response to this, is what is freedom, or more specifically what does freedom mean to me? Freedom, to me, is having a sense of liberty in your heart, to feel unencumbered by the worries and cares of life that can so easily weigh you down and to live with a sense of wholehearted freedom that comes from deep within. It is not about not following rules or disobeying the laws of the land. These rules of life are important so that we can all live together in harmony in this world. So, for me freedom is about feeling unshackled and unrestricted by doing the wrong thing – the thing that doesn’t fit in with your life-style plan, while still living within the restraints of the law and sometimes unspoken rules of society – moral codes, ethics and even etiquette.

Natalie’s question is about discovering your ‘Why?’ What gets you up on a morning, what lights you up, what makes you buzz and motivates you to be the best you can be. Considering what motivates me to want to run my own business is manifold. In some ways, I feel that I am already living the dream in that I do have a lot of freedom to organise my own schedule and fit in the things that are important to me – spending time with family and friends, keeping fit and healthy, maintaining my language skills, learning how to become a better teacher and, of course, enjoying life. I am so blessed to have a husband, who supports me in trying to reach my goals and live my dream but I would also like to create a situation where he does not have to work so hard to support us, that he could perhaps reduce his weekly hours and we would also have more time to do the things that he loves the most – spending time with family and friends, playing golf etc. So that he can also enjoy a freedom life-style.

I also hope that as I live my freedom life-style that the services I offer will inspire other people to challenge themselves about their lives, that they might gain an appreciation and love for other languages and cultures as I have, that it might motivate them to travel and see the world. I know some students of mine already have been encouraged to travel – one Japanese student was inspired to join a short-term outreach trip to Cambodia to help build a school; more recently one of my students of Japanese has decided to take a gap year in China before continuing to study Japanese at university in the UK, and there are others.

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope you also feel inspired to live your freedom life-style.

#10DBC #freedom plan

Leave a Reply

