Day 6 – The 10 Day Blog Challenge

Day 6 Challenge: Find 1 or 2 people who are living the kind of life you want to live, and whose tribe you’d love to be part of. Then write a short post about why you find them inspiring and the one question you would ask them if you met in real life.

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 6

This is an interesting challenge. I started working as a Private Language Tutor earlier this year and love what I do. I love the interaction with my students and seeing them progress in their chosen language. However, after working in this capacity for a few months, I came to the conclusion that since I work on my own a lot, I would be really helpful to have someone to bounce ideas off and discuss how to make my lessons more dynamic and interesting for my students. Soon after this, I had a conversation with a lady at church who had lived in Switzerland for over forty years and had taught English as a Foreign Language there. She lent me her files of resources that she had used over the years and that gave me the inspiration to create my own files of photos, pictures, quizzes, that I can use in addition to all the online resources, games, CDs, and textbooks that I was already using. We still meet regularly, talk in French and at times discuss teaching methods. Thank you, Bridget.

I also recently came to hear of a group of language tutors locally that were holding an open day to promote their lessons. This was very timely. I went along to this meeting, thinking that it would be a fantastic opportunity to meet like-minded people to discuss resources, promotion strategies, problems and solutions. This event led to the linking up with a potential new client too, as no-one else among the tutors teaches Japanese. I have joined the Facebook group and it interesting to read about events and promotions that are taking place. It would potentially be a good place for a discussion forum for local language tutors to discuss issues that may arise. Perhaps I should seek to strengthen this link? I now also regularly look for and ‘like’ Facebook pages that have connections with language learning so that I can keep up to date with the latest ideas and also see how other people/organisations are doing the same thing.

As a mentor, I would perhaps choose Peter Galante founder of an online resources programme for language tutors and students. I listen to the advanced lessons in Japanese regularly and find them really interesting. It is a business very much in line with what I would ultimately aspire to achieving – providing online lessons that people can download and listen to in their own time, any time or any place. I would like to ask Peter how he got started, what his goals are, and how he can achieve them. I would like to provide resources for tutors to make use of in their lessons. I would also like to inspire as many people as possible to learn a foreign language. It is good for you in so many ways. Did you know that learning a language can hold back the onset of dementia by up to five years? In addition, people who learn a language apparently tend to be good at multi-tasking, in the same way that they can switch between languages effectively, they can switch between different tasks; they have good memories (they have learnt two or more vocabularies). Linguists tend to be good at problem solving as they can think out of the box and come up with innovative ideas; they are good at remaining focused on a task as they are able to cut out distractions (such as the vocab from another language) and stay on task. In short, in the same way that going to the gym improves your fitness, working out your brain by learning another language improves your cognition and productivity. What an excellent and fun way to work out your brain!

I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog. Please let me know who has inspired you in your life.

#10DBC #freedom plan

 

blog-challenge-badge-12

 

 

Leave a Reply

