Day 7 – The 10 Day Blog Challenge – Jacqueline Matthews

Beating Procrastination and Overwhelm

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 7

Natalie’s message really resonated with me. I am a champion at procrastinating. It seems that whenever I have an important task to do, it is the very last thing that I come to at the end of the day. It is on my mind constantly but I do anything else first but the task at hand. I check emails, answer texts, look at Facebook, I even do house work! Then usually the important task is done either last thing or night or squeezed in before I have to dash off on the school run – not good! Even now I am sitting on a train heading to Edinburgh for a hot date night with my husband and I keep chatting with the complete strangers opposite me instead of getting on with writing my blog page!

The challenge of today’s blog is to consider one important task that we would like to accomplish in the near future and to set out a plan to make it happen. Perhaps we are putting it off because we are afraid of failure; or even afraid of success or we want it to be perfect before we share it with others. The task that immediately comes to mind for me is creating a web page/blog site. It is something I have been considering since setting up my own business earlier this year. I have a Facebook page – Jacqueline Matthews Language Tutor. Now, thanks to doing the 10 Day Blog Challenge, I have also created a blog page in WordPress. I may in the future pay for a more professional website. However, for now the task that I intend to set my mind to, is improving my website in WordPress, to continue to write blogs, to add in new pages, such as resources, cultural items, maybe lessons plans and sample lessons with video blogs etc, and to use this to begin to link and engage with others via the blog. I hesitated for a long time because I wanted to completely establish in my own mind what I would like to achieve, wanted the website to look perfect, but now I have decided to start working on it, I will see how it develops, what ideas are generated, who is interested in what I have to offer and what people would like to know more about. I can then tailor make the blog to suit the needs of interested parties, find out what works and what doesn’t. This experience, I am sure, will stand me in good stead for the future.

Thanks again for reading my blog. Please let me know if you have ideas on what you would like to see on my language tutor website.

#10DBC #freedomplan

blog-challenge-badge-12

 

 

Leave a Reply

