Day 8 of the 10 Day Blog Challenge – Jacqueline Matthews

Choosing your adventure

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 8

Today’s challenge is concerned with going out and having a mini adventure, having fun and then reporting on it in the blog. The mini adventure I am going to describe came a day earlier than Day 8 but I feel compelled to write about it because it did feel like a mini adventure. My husband was working in Scotland last week, setting off (very) early on Tuesday morning. He invited me to join him on Edinburgh for a date on Friday night, before travelling back home together to England on Saturday morning.

I woke up on Friday morning excited about making the train journey up to meet him. It felt like I had not seen him for ages. After depositing the little one at school today and making sure that he had all he needed for football training and friend’s party the next day, I went home to make the final touches to my make-up and cram even more stuff for the one night away in my small suitcase. The weather was absolutely chucking it down as I made my way in the taxi to the station, but after a pleasant journey up, the track tracing the coast at some points en route, I arrived in a bright and sunny Edinburgh with no rain in sight.

My husband was waiting for me at the hotel and we had been allocated a gorgeous room – very spacious. It was great to see him and we enjoyed a long embrace. We spent the afternoon looking round Edinburgh, visiting the outside of the castle, the Royal Mile and Grassmarket. We reminisced about other times when we have been there and caught up on the events of the week, stopping for a drink in a couple of cafe-bars to take the time to soak in the atmosphere and being in each other’s company.

We returned to the hotel early evening and got ready for our evening meal in the city centre. The restaurant wasn’t quite what we had expected but we enjoyed the starter of mussels, which were followed by a couple of sea food dishes. The evening finished at the hotel with a drink in the bar, unfortunately the sky lounge was closed due to a wedding taking place. We imagined what it would have been like to sit up there and enjoy the spectacular view of Edinburgh by night.

#10DBC #freedomplan

Leave a comment