Day 9 of the 10 Day Blog Challenge

Location Independence

Day 9 Challenge: Imagine you are on a long holiday in Portugal (or wherever your dream destination is). There are castles to explore, secret bars to discover, and sunny beaches to laze around on. In today’s post, I want you to write about how you will balance your adventure and work while you are away on this holiday.

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 9

Having spent several years living overseas prior to getting married, I am very content to now be living back in my home town in the UK, close to family and friends. I am pleased with how my days are mapping out, as I outlined in Day 3’s blog challenge with opportunity to go to the gym regularly, meet with friends and spend quality time with family. However, I cannot resist the opportunity to consider taking a month out and spending it in Portugal – a very beautiful country that I have had chance to visit on a couple of occasions.

The challenge is to write about how I will spend my day and balance my work and adventure. I would wake up refreshed from a good night’s sleep and prepare a delicious breakfast consisting of bread, eggs, fruit and yogurt to eat on the verandah overlooking the ocean. I would do some exercise either at a local gym or if there is no local gym then use a DVD or online workout routine. Then I would get down to work. I would teach a couple of hours of Japanese via Skype. That would be the work aspect complete. I could then enjoy a relaxed lunch – perhaps taking a picnic to the beach. After a few hours on the beach, I could also look forward to a delicious evening meal spent with family and/or friends, in a quaint little restaurant in the mountains that we often frequent.

In order to achieve this ideal, I would have to change my business to become more location independent. Currently, the majority of my lessons are conducted either face-to-face in person or over the Internet from my home office. To be able to work in the way described, it would mean strengthening the online aspect of my business, so that I not only teach real time lessons over the Internet as I do now, but also to be able to offer lessons that people can access anywhere, at any time. My work time could then be used to produce more online lessons – video blogs, PDFs of lesson transcripts etc. I would be able to reach more people, across more countries and help them to achieve their goal of becoming fluent in a foreign language. It is a  business then, that could also potentially generate an income, after I retire – perhaps to Portugal …?

Where would you spend a month-long adventure and how would you balance your work/life priorities?

#10DBC #freedomplanblog-challenge-badge-12

 

Leave a Reply

